Sarajevo is the capital city of Bosnia and Herzegovina. It is the main administrative, economic, cultural, university and sports centre in the country.

The City of Sarajevo is a local self-governing unit covering four central city municipalities: Stari Grad, Centar, Novo Sarajevo and Novi Grad.

The Sarajevo Canton includes the City and five neighbouring municipalities: Hadžići, Ilidža, Ilijaš, Trnovo and Vogošća.

Sarajevo has the highest concentration of economic development in the country, contributing with around 38% to the national GDP. The strongest industries are tourism and trade, as well as food industry, tobacco production, automotive industry and furniture production.
Sarajevo is the most populous city in the country with an estimated population of
275.524 (City) and 413.593 (Canton).
The total area of Sarajevo is
141.5 km² (City) and 1,277.3 km² (Canton).
Encircled by mountains, Sarajevo is situated on the Sarajevo Plain at about 500 meters above the sea level.
Sarajevo has a temperate continental climate influenced by Central European climate from the north and the Mediterranean climate from the south.
Sarajevo is home to Bosniaks, Croats, Serbs and other minorities of different ethnic and/or religious backgrounds.
The official language is Bosnian, Croatian and Serbian.
Sarajevo is characterised by multi-ethnicity and religious diversity where followers of Islam, Roman Catholicism, Christian Orthodoxy, Judaism and other minority religions have co-existed together for centuries.
Screenshot 2020-07-03 at 09.25.37

Sarajevo City Administration

The Department of Education, Culture, Sports and Youth of the Sarajevo City Administration carries out administrative tasks within the scope of the City, in the following areas:

  • protection of cultural and historical heritage;
  • support of museum, archive and library activities:
  • organisation and realisation of sporting events;
  • support of music, theater and audiovisual activities;
  • implementation of measures and activities in the field of primary and secondary education;
  • construction, renovation and maintenance of sports facilities;
  • creation and implementation of youth policies, active cooperation with the youth sector and improvement of the position of young people.

In the field of film, the City of Sarajevo co-finances film festivals in Sarajevo, supports filmmakers and filmmaking of artistic value and/or in the interest of the City of Sarajevo and Bosnia and Herzegovina.

The project team of the Department of Education, Culture, Sports and Youth and the Department of Local Self-Governance and City Development supports the Obala Art Centar Association which is designated by the City Council to manage the UNESCO City of Film status.


Sarajevo Canton Ministry of Culture and Sports

The Sarajevo Canton Ministry of Culture and Sports supports the development of sports and cultural content and activities, following the principle of equal rights to the creative development of institutions and individuals. The Ministry also supports international cooperation and promotion of culture and sports of the Sarajevo Canton and Bosnia and Herzegovina with the aim of exchanging experiences and knowledge.

The Culture Sector carries out administrative tasks relating to:

  • defining and proposing policies for the development of culture and cultural activities,
  • preparing, implementing and monitoring of laws and regulations in the field of culture,
  • establishing and supervising the work of public cultural institutions,
  • organising and participating in the organisation of cultural events,
  • regulating and providing conditions for the protection, revitalisation and restoration of cultural and historical heritage, museums and monuments,
  • and other jobs within the competence of the Ministry.

In the field of film, the Ministry co-finances film festivals, finances production and co-production of films and issues necessary permits for filming in the Sarajevo Canton.